Institute Objectives

The Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) regards itself as a transregional centre of excellence for automotive economics.

The institute is geared towards the automotive industry’s design needs arising from the three major challenges of internalisation, innovation and demographic change.

The design needs created by these three challenges are immense. The necessity for a new industrial revolution to tackle this complex situation is a central focus for both industrial policy (key concept: reindustrialisation in Europe and the USA) and research (key concept: Industry 4.0).

Building on this strategic orientation, the Chemnitz Automotive Institute initiates, conducts and pools research in the fields of automotive economy, automotive factories and automotive logistics, focusing in particular on developing, testing and transferring process innovations.

The Chemnitz Automotive Institute is supported in its objectives by its incorporation into TU Chemnitz education (TUCed GmbH) and its close cooperation with the Institute for Management and Factory Systems at the Chemnitz University of Technology (TU Chemnitz).

Zielsetzung des Instituts

Das Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) versteht sich als überregionales Kompetenzzentrum zu Entwicklungen in der Automobilindustrie.

Das Institut orientiert sich an dem Gestaltungsbedarf der Automobilbranche, der insbesondere aus den Herausforderungen der Internationalisierung, der Innovation von Produkten und Prozessen sowie des Wandels der Wertschöpfungsstrukturen resultiert.

Der Gestaltungsbedarf, der aus diesen drei Herausforderungen erwächst, ist immens. Sowohl auf der industriepolitischen Ebene (Stichwort Re-Industrialisierung in Europa und advanced manufacturing in den USA) wie auch in der Forschung (Stichwort Industrie 4.0) wird die Notwendigkeit einer neuen industriellen Revolution thematisiert, um diese Gemengelage zu lösen.

In dieser strategischen Ausrichtung initiiert, betreibt und bündelt das Chemnitz Automotive Institute Forschungsarbeiten unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Entwicklung und Erprobung sowie des Transfers von Prozessinnovationen.

Diese Zielsetzung wird durch die Integration des Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) in die TUCed – An-Institut für Transfer und Weiterbildung GmbH sowie durch eine enge Kooperation mit dem Institut für Betriebswissenschaften und Fabriksysteme (IBF) an der Technischen Universität Chemnitz unterstützt.