News

Constituent Meeting of the CATI Advisory Board in Chemnitz

Constituent Meeting of the CATI Advisory Board in Chemnitz

Science-to-business‘, the maxim of applied research, is not a one-way street: it requires ongoing consulting and support from competent industry partners.

This task is entrusted to the Advisory Board of the Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI), established in early December, with capable members including famous names from the automotive industry. Volkswagen, Porsche, Brose, Magnetto Automotive, Schnellecke Logistics and Hörmann-Rawema are all represented (OEMs, suppliers and service providers). They are joined by the VDA and the ACOD as industry representatives, as well as by representatives of various applied research institutions.

At its constituent meeting on 5 December in Chemnitz the Advisory Board adopted a programme of selected initial projects suggested by the directors, focusing on the following areas over the coming months:

  • Digitisation of production (in particular medium-sized businesses)
  • Impact of the internationalisation of the German automotive industry
  • Automation in logistics
  • Future automotive value creation structures

The members of the Advisory Board also proposed tackling the medium-term topics of energy efficiency, ergonomics and reindustrialisation.

In addition to these areas, the Advisory Board also devoted particularly in-depth discussion to qualification, further training and knowledge transfer requirements, already calling for substantial action from all involved and also undergoing change within the context of the future trend of Industry 4.0. The common understanding of both the Directors and the Advisory Board is that Industry 4.0 is more than just a paradigm shift with technological implications – instead, it is essentially a profound change to the networked factory, likewise altering the human/technology/organisation structure of future automotive factories.

The Rector of TU Chemnitz emphasised that the integration of the Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) into TU Chemnitz education (TUCed GmbH) and its cooperation with the Industry 4.0 application centre within the Institute for Management and Factory Systems represent a successful way to confront these future needs.

News

Konstituierende Sitzung des CATI Beirats in Chemnitz

Konstituierende Sitzung des CATI Beirats in Chemnitz

Science-to-business‘, die Maxime angewandter Forschung, ist keine Einbahnstraße. Sie bedarf der durchgängigen Beratung und Begleitung durch kompetente Praxispartner.

Diese Aufgabe kommt beim Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) dem Anfang Dezember konstituierten Beirat zu, dem kompetente Vertreter renommierter Adressen der Automobilindustrie angehören. Volkswagen, Porsche, Brose, Magnetto Automotive, Schnellecke Logistics, Hörmann-Rawema – dies die Vertreter der Unternehmen (OEM, Lieferanten und Dienstleister). Ergänzt um VDA und ACOD als institutionelle Branchenverbände sowie Vertreter verschiedener Institutionen angewandter Forschung.

In seiner konstituierenden Sitzung am 5. Dezember in Chemnitz hat der Beirat ein vom Direktorium vorgestelltes Programm ausgewählter Startprojekte verabschiedet, das in den nächsten Monaten die Schwerpunkte

  • Digitalisierung der Produktion (insb. mittelständischer Unternehmen)
  • Beschäftigungsauswirkungen der Internationalisierung der deutschen Automobil-industrie
  • Automatisierung in der Logistik
  • Zukünftige Strukturen automobiler Wertschöpfung

beinhaltet.

Von den Mitgliedern des Beirats wurde angeregt, mittelfristig auch Themen der Energieeffizienz, der Ergonomie und der Re-Industrialisierung aufzugreifen.

Neben diesen Sachthemen hat der Beirat mit besonderer Intensität die Anforderungen an Qualifizierung, Weiterbildung und Wissenstransfer diskutiert, die heute schon einen erheblichen Handlungsbedarf für alle Beteiligten darstellen und sich durch den Zukunftstrend Industrie 4.0 zusätzlich verändern. Industrie 4.0 – so das gemeinsame Verständnis von Direktorium und Beirat – ist nicht nur ein Paradigmenwechsel mit technologischen Implikationen, sondern wesentlich ein tiefgreifender Wandel zur vernetzten Fabrik, der das gesamte Gefüge von Mensch – Technik – Organisation in der Automobilfabrik der Zukunft gleichermaßen verändert.

Die Anbindung des Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) an das Institut für Weiterbildung (TUCed GmbH) und die Kooperation mit dem Anwendungszentrum Industrie 4.0 des Instituts für Betriebswissenschaften und Fabriksysteme (IBF), so betonte der Rektor der Technischen Universität, ist eine gelungene Konstellation, um sich diesen Anforderungen der Zukunft zu stellen.