News

Practice-oriented automotive research from CATI

New institute is establishing a profile as a national competence centre for automotive economics

CATI is the acronym for the newly founded Chemnitz Automotive Institute, which began operations in early 2015 within TU Chemnitz. Despite its Saxony roots, CATI is aiming to establish a profile as a national competence centre for automotive economics.

In addition to Saxony considerations, there has always been a sporting force behind this project, according to one of CATI’s founding fathers Prof. Werner Olle: Germany’s research and institutional landscape has three leading institutes, located in Duisburg, Bergisch-Gladbach and Nürtingen, none of which are exactly automotive strongholds. The ‘car state’ of Saxony has thus far remained unrepresented, something which should change with this new Saxony automotive competence centre.
The Chemnitz Automotive Institute, headed by professors Dr. Egon Müller, Dr. Werner Olle and Dr. Christoph Igel, is offering a profile and range of services which sets it far apart from existing institutions. CATI is geared towards the automotive industry’s design needs arising from the three major challenges of internalisation, innovation and demographic change. Building on this strategic orientation, CATI initiates, conducts and pools research and innovation activities in the fields of automotive economy, automotive factories and automotive logistics, focusing in particular on developing, testing and transferring process innovations.

Anzeige_News_0215

Integration into TU Chemnitz education (TUCed)

The considerable importance of innovation, technology and knowledge transfer meant that the institute was initially deliberately incorporated as an independent business unit into an existing institution within TU Chemnitz, namely TU Chemnitz education (TUCed GmbH). ‘This institutionally embedded link was welcomed by all practice partners, who are already facing immense challenges in recruiting, qualifying and further training their staff. This will be further enhanced within the context of the future trend of industry 4.0’, according to Prof. Christoph Igel, a member of CATI’s Board of Directors and CEO of TUCed GmbH.
Since TUCed is also an inter-institutional and cross-thematic platform for knowledge and technology transfer at TU Chemnitz, this constellation also enables close interconnections with other faculties, institutes and professors such as the Institute for Management and Factory Systems (IBF) with its innovation laboratory, due to be further developed into an industry 4.0 application centre. ‘CATI is an excellent addition and expansion for our current activities, as it opens up whole series of new topics and links which are urgently required for the issue of industry 4.0’, according to Prof. Egon Müller, Director of IBF and a member of CATI’s Board of Directors.

Support from competent practice partners

‘Science-to-business’, the postulate of applied research envisaged by CATI, is by no means a one-way street: it requires ongoing consulting and support from competent industry partners. This task is entrusted to the Advisory Board of the Chemnitz Automotive Institute, established in early December 2014, with capable members including famous names from the automotive industry.
At its inaugural meeting, the Advisory Board adopted a programme of selected initial projects presented by the Board of Directors, over the subsequent few months initially focusing on the digitisation of production (in particular for medium-sized companies), the employment impact of the internationalisation of the German automotive industry, automation in logistics, and future structures of automotive value creation.
The members of the Advisory Board also proposed tackling the medium-term topics of energy efficiency, ergonomics and reindustrialisation. In addition, CATI will be particularly focusing on the topic of employee qualification, for example in the context of industry 4.0 and digital literacy.
‘Despite every occasion to comment ad hoc on all possible automotive industry topics, we will resist the temptation for a constant media presence and will publicise topics which match our profile and our high standards of quality. We owe this at the very least to our practice partners’, Prof. Olle confirmed.

News

CATI forscht praxisorientiert zur Automobilwirtschaft

Neues Institut profiliert sich zum überregionalen Kompetenzzentrum für Automotive Economics

CATI ist das Kürzel für das frisch gegründete Chemnitz Automotive Institute, das im Umfeld der TU Chemnitz mit Jahresbeginn 2015 seine Tätigkeit aufgenommen hat. Ungeachtet seiner sächsischen Wurzeln zielt CATI darauf ab, sich zum überregionalen Kompetenzzentrum für Automotive Economics zu profilieren.

Neben sachlichen Erwägungen habe immer auch ein sportliches Motiv Pate für dieses Vorhaben gestanden, so Prof. Werner Olle, einer der Gründungsvätervon CATI. Denn in der deutschen Forschungs- und Institutslandschaft sind drei Institute tonangebend, die mit ihren Standorten in Duisburg, Bergisch-Gladbach und Nürtingen nicht gerade in automobilen Hochburgen lokalisiert sind. Das „Autoland Sachsen“ ist bislang nicht vertreten; dies soll sich durch das neue sächsische Kompetenzzentrum für Automotive verändern.
Das Chemnitz Automotive Institute unter Leitung der Professoren Dr. Egon Müller, Dr. Werner Olle und Dr. Christoph Igel bietet ein Profil und Leistungsangebot, das sich von den derzeit bestehenden Einrichtungen deutlich unterscheidet. CATI orientiert sich an dem Gestaltungsbedarf der Automobilbranche, der aus den drei großen Herausforderungen Internationalisierung, Innovation und demographischer Wandel resultiert. In dieser strategischen Ausrichtung initiiert, betreibt und bündelt CATI Forschungs- und Innovationsarbeiten auf den Gebieten Automobil-Wirtschaft, Automobil-Fabrik und Automobil-Logistik unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Entwicklung und Erprobung sowie des Transfers von Prozessinnovationen.

Anzeige_News_0215

Integration ins Institut für Weiterbildung TUCed

Wegen der hohen Bedeutung des Innovations-,Technologie- und Wissenstransfers wurde das Institut zunächst bewusst als eigenständiger Geschäfts-bereich in eine bestehende Einrichtung im Umfeld der Technischen Universität Chemnitz integriert – dem Institut für Weiterbildung (TUCed GmbH). „Diese institutionell verankerte Verknüpfung wurde von allen Praxispartnern begrüßt, die heute schon mit immensen Herausforderungen bei der Rekrutierung, Qualifizierung und Weiterbildung ihrer Mitarbeiter konfrontiert sind. Dies wird sich vor dem Hintergrund des Zukunftstrends Industrie 4.0 noch weiter verstärken“, so Prof. Christoph Igel, Direktoriumsmitglied von CATI und zugleich CEO der TUCed GmbH.
Da die TUCed zugleich eine instituts- und themenübergreifende Plattform für den Wissens- und Technologietransfer der TU Chemnitz ist, wird durch diese Konstellation zudem die enge Verzahnung mit weiteren Fakultäten, Instituten und Professoren ermöglicht, z. B. dem Institut für Betriebswissenschaften und Fabriksysteme (IBF) mit seinem Innovationslabor, das zu einem Anwendungszentrum Industrie 4.0 weiterentwickelt werden soll. „CATI ist eine vorzügliche Ergänzung und Erweiterung unserer bisherigen Arbeiten, da dadurch eine ganze Reihe neuer Themen und Verknüpfungen möglich werden, die wir gerade beim Thema Industrie 4.0 dringend benötigen“, so Prof. Egon Müller, Direktor des IBF und zugleich Direktoriumsmitglied bei CATI.

Begleitung durch kompetente Praxispartner

„Science-to-business“, das Postulat angewandter Forschung wie von CATI angestrebt, ist beileibe keine Einbahnstraße. Es bedarf der durchgängigen Beratung und Begleitung durch kompetente Praxispartner. Diese Aufgabe kommt beim Chemnitz Automotive Institute dem Anfang Dezember 2014 konstituierten Beirat zu, dem kompetente Vertreter renommierter Adressen der Automobilindustrie angehören.
In seiner konstituierenden Sitzung hat der Beirat ein vom Direktorium vorgestelltes Programm ausgewählter Startprojekte verabschiedet, das in den nächsten Monaten zunächst die Schwerpunkte Digitalisierung der Produktion (insbesondere mittelständischer Unternehmen),Beschäftigungsauswirkungen der Internationalisierung der deutschen Automobilindustrie, Automatisierung in der Logistik sowie zukünftige Strukturen automobiler Wertschöpfung beinhaltet.
Von den Mitgliedern des Beirats wurde weiterhin angeregt, mittelfristig auch Themen der Energieeffizienz, der Ergonomie und der Re-Industrialisierung aufzugreifen. Ebenso soll CATI einen besonderen Fokus auf das Thema Mitarbeiterqualifizierung etwa im Kontext von Industrie 4.0 und digitaler Kompetenz legen.
„Trotz aller Anlässe, sich ad hoc zu allen möglichen Themen der Automobilbranche zu äußern, werden wir dieser Versuchung zur ständigen medialen Präsenz widerstehen und sachbezogen Themen in die Öffentlichkeit bringen, die unserem Profil und unserem hohen Qualitätsanspruch entsprechen. Dies sind wir nicht zuletzt auch unseren Praxispartnern schuldig“, stellt Prof. Olle fest.

Auch als PDF zum Download verfügbar.