News

CATI presentation at the innteract conference 2015

Industry 4.0 – automotive industry also facing upheaval
CATI presentation at this year’s innteract conference at TU Chemnitz

The German automotive industry is internationally competitive at the highest level. This success is crucially based on its technical ability to continuously develop and implement product and process innovations. Industry 4.0 is now posing a challenge which goes beyond purely technical aspects, and the automotive industry will have to adapt.

‘Industry 4.0 draws its design potential from data and information which can be captured, processed and made available in real time. This intelligent networking creates the potential to transform individual processes, process chains and entire business process. This is the challenge we are facing’, according to Prof. Werner Olle of the Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) at the innteract conference in early May.

Current efficiency programmes are reaching their limits

Shorter life cycles for vehicle models, narrowing vehicle segments, lower numbers of pieces per model, increasing product complexity, more product launches, rapidly growing globalisation – these are just some of the challenges to which automotive manufacturers are having to react with current strategies to boost their efficiency.

At heart, this is about two complementary strategies:

  • Achieving economies of scale
    These economies of scale can no longer be achieved by increasing the number of pieces in a complete vehicle, but rather by standardising components as part of modular and platform strategies.
  • Achieving economies of scope
    OEMs are continually reducing their vertical range of manufacture and have now transferred up to 75% of automotive value creation to suppliers.

The key to both strategies is product modularisation, further developed in modular process, infrastructure and factory modules.

This potential has not yet been fully exhausted, but is increasingly reaching its limit.

Industry 4.0 in products, production and business processes

Networking, connectivity, digitisation – these are the key terms for the automotive industry and form part of a future vision of industry 4.0. This new world affects the product, its production and the entire business process (see diagram).

  • Product: this challenge has been intensively addressed by all manufacturers and system suppliers, who are also coming up against competitors from other sectors.
  • Production: the focus here is primarily on further automation (incl. new human-robot collaborations) and on networking machinery and systems. External networking in terms of mutual transparency between manufacturers, suppliers and service providers is still considered a breach of taboo.
    Integrative networking within factories – across production areas, integrating manufacturing support services from quality assurance to logistics in real time – is still in its early stages.
  • • Business processes: the potential of industry 4.0 has not yet reached this area: for example, development and ordering processes are run as they always were.

Folie-zur-innteract-conference-Mai-2015

Industry 4.0 enables economies of community

‘What we need to seize is the potential that real-time data and online transparency can create for corporate success. We can decentralise management approaches and responsibilities in the factory, we can create transparency in internal and external value chains, we can generate open and globalised innovation processes, we can facilitate the age-old desire for lifelong learning on new, customisable, medial platforms, and much more. As a result, we achieve efficiency benefits in terms of resources, speed and flexibility through what we call economies of community’, according to Prof. Olle.

olle_innteract
Prof. Olle at the innteract conference 2015

News

CATI-Vortrag auf der innteract conference 2015

Industrie 4.0 – auch die Automobilindustrie steht vor einem Umbruch
CATI-Präsentation auf der diesjährigen innteract Konferenz an der TU Chemnitz

Die deutsche Automobilindustrie ist international in höchstem Maße wettbewerbsfähig. Dieser Erfolg basiert ganz entscheidend auf der technischen Fähigkeit zur stetigen Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Produkt- und Prozeßinnovationen. Mit Industrie 4.0 stellt sich jetzt eine Herausforderung, die über rein technische Aspekte hinausreicht. Auch die Automobilindustrie muss sich darauf einstellen.

„Industrie 4.0 bezieht ihr Gestaltungspotential aus Daten und Informationen, die in Echtzeit erfasst, verarbeitet und bereitgestellt werden können. Aus dieser intelligenten Vernetzung erwächst ein Potential zur Umgestaltung von Einzelprozessen, Prozeßfolgen und gesamten Geschäftsprozessen. Dies ist die Herausforderung, vor der wir stehen“, so Prof. Werner Olle vom Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) auf der innteract conference Anfang Mai.

Heutige Effizienzprogramme stoßen an ihre Grenzen

Kürzere Lebenszyklen der Fahrzeugmodelle, Verengung der Fahrzeugsegmente, geringere Stückzahlen je Modell, steigende Produktkomplexität, vermehrte Produktanläufe, rasant wachsende Globalisierung – dies sind nur einige der Herausforderungen, auf die die Automobilhersteller mit ihren heutigen Strategien zur Effizienzsteigerung reagieren.

Im Kern handelt es sich dabei um zwei sich ergänzende Strategien:

  • Erzielung von Volumenvorteilen (economies of scale)
    Diese Volumenvorteile sind nicht mehr durch steigende Stückzahlen eines kompletten Fahrzeuges zu erzielen, sondern durch die Standardisierung von Komponenten im Rahmen von Baukasten- und Plattformstrategien.
  • Erzielung von Verbundvorteilen (economies of scope)
    Die OEMs haben ihre Fertigungstiefe kontinuierlich reduziert und haben mittlerweile bis zu 75 % der automobilen Wertschöpfung an Lieferanten übertragen.

Schlüssel für beide Strategien ist die Modularisierung des Produkts, das in modularen Prozess-, Infrastruktur- und Fabrikmodulen seine Fortsetzung findet.

Dieses Potential ist noch nicht gänzlich ausgereizt, aber es stößt zunehmend an Grenzen.

Industrie 4.0 in Produkt, Produktion und Geschäftsprozeß

Vernetzung, Konnektivität, Digitalisierung – so lauten die Schlüsselbegriffe, die auf die Automobilindustrie zukommen und die Bestandteil einer Zukunftsvision Industrie 4.0 sind. Diese neue Welt betrifft das Produkt, dessen Produktion und den gesamten Geschäftsprozeß (siehe Abbildung).

  • Produkt: diese Herausforderung haben alle Hersteller und Systemlieferanten intensiv angenommen; sie stoßen dabei auch auf Herausforderer aus anderen Branchen.
  • Produktion: hier steht überwiegend die weitere Automatisierung (incl. neuer Mensch-Roboter-Kollaborationen) im Vordergrund sowie die Vernetzung von Maschinen und Anlagen. Die externe Vernetzung im Sinne einer wechselseitigen Transparenz zwischen Herstellern, Lieferanten und Dienstleistern kommt immer noch einem Tabubruch gleich.
    Eine integrative Vernetzung innerhalb der Fabriken – fertigungsbereichsübergreifend, Einbindung der produktionsunterstützenden Funktionen von Qualitätssicherung bis Logistik in Echtzeit – steht noch am Anfang.
  • Geschäftsprozesse: hier ist das Potential von Industrie 4.0 noch gar nicht angekommen. Beispielsweise erfolgen Entwicklungs- oder Auftragsprozesse wie eh und je.

Folie-zur-innteract-conference-Mai-2015

Industrie 4.0 ermöglicht economies of community

„Was wir begreifen müssen, ist das Potential, das aus Echtzeit-Daten und Online-Transparenz für den unternehmerischen Erfolg resultieren kann. Wir können in der Fabrik Steuerungslogiken und Verantwortlichkeiten dezentralisieren, wir können Transparenz in internen und externen Wertschöpfungsketten schaffen, wir können offene und globalisierte Innovationsprozesse erzeugen, wir können den uralten Wunsch nach lebenslangem Lernen auf neuen individualisierbaren medialen Plattformen ermöglichen …und und und. Im Ergebnis erreichen wir Effizienzvorteile bei Ressourcen, Geschwindigkeit und Flexibilität durch – nennen wir es – economies of community “, so Prof. Olle.

olle_innteract
Prof. Olle auf der innteract conference 2015