News

Employment obstructed by a lack of internationalisation

Employment obstructed by a lack of internationalisation

A current study by the Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) has highlighted the need for action in medium-sized supply companies, in particular in eastern Germany.

The German automotive industry is literally bursting with international competitive ability. 90% of vehicles produced worldwide with a German brand logo are destined for foreign markets. This highlights the sector’s outstanding international competitive ability, but it is also an indication of immense dependence. ‘The risk for domestic locations and workplaces is not that suppliers are increasingly moving their production abroad, but rather that the successful model derived from overseas production and export is not continued unbroken in the same way for all involved’, according to Prof. Werner Olle, a member of the Board of Directors of the Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CAT), in the recent study entitled ‘Investment Follows Growth’.

For automotive manufacturers, the proportion of all production (by value) completed overseas is 40% in the premium segment (BMW/Daimler) and as much as 80% in the volume segment (Volkswagen cars). ‘Automobile manufacturers produce in markets where demand is still experiencing a sustained increase. This is no longer the case in traditional industrial countries such as Germany’, explains Prof. Olle. Over the past two decades, overall this internationalisation has not damaged domestic automotive sites but has instead provided them with sustainable support via expanded deliveries, new export opportunities, and also the ability for hybrid costing.

And the supply industry? ‘All large German automotive suppliers – from Continental to Mahle and Brose to Dräxlmaier and Webasto – who claim high global market shares in specific product areas as a result of innovation leadership have long since become global champions, and have even outstripped automotive manufacturers in their degree of internationalisation’, argues the author of the CATI study. On average, around 65% of employees in companies are already working abroad.

However, at the other end of the supply pyramid among small and medium-sized companies, CATI has identified a considerable need for action. ‘Export quotas significantly below average, target markets predominantly in the euro zone, extremely small commitments in their own country – this picture becomes even more negative for the supply industry in the new federal states’, in Prof. Olle’s assessment. ‘Nevertheless, we do not expect any serious consequences within the timeline to 2020. However, if globalisation still fails to progress among medium-sized companies, there will be unavoidable risk for domestic sites and workplaces. This potential risk is particularly high for medium-sized supply companies in the new federal states’, is Prof. Olle’s cautionary conclusion.

‘This study has come at the right time, as progress in internationalisation requires sufficient forward planning’, adds Prof. Christoph Igel, also a member of CATI’s Board of Directors and Director of TU Chemnitz education (TUCed) at TU Chemnitz. CATI’s latest study also arrives in time for the run-up to this year’s Automotive Cluster of East Germany (ACOD) conference on 15 July at the Porsche factory in Leipzig, with the slogan ‘Internationalisation in the Automotive Supply Industry’.

Keyword: Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI)

Founded in 2015, the Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) headed by professors Dr. Egon Müller, Dr. Werner Olle and Dr. Christoph Igel is developing an independent profile and focusing on structure-based needs in the automotive industry arising from the three key challenges of internationalisation, innovation and demographic change. Building on this strategic orientation, CATI initiates, conducts and pools research into the fields of automotive economy, automotive factories and automotive logistics, focusing in particular on developing, testing and transferring process innovations.

Due to the major importance of innovation and knowledge transfer, the Chemnitz Automotive Institute has been integrated into an institute affiliated to TU Chemnitz (namely TU Chemnitz education, TUCed GmbH) as an independent division. This setup also enables close connections with other institutes at the university, including the Institute for Management and Factory Systems. CATI collaborates with numerous practice partners, the German Association of the Automotive Industry (VDA) and the Automotive Cluster of East Germany (ACOD) as industry representatives, as well as with representatives of various applied research institutions.

News

Mangelnde Internationalisierung wird zur Beschäftigungsbremse

Mangelnde Internationalisierung wird zur Beschäftigungsbremse

Aktuelle Studie des Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) unterstreicht Handlungsbedarf in mittelständischen Zulieferfirmen, insbesondere in Ostdeutschland

Die deutsche Automobilindustrie strotzt förmlich vor internationaler Wettbewerbsfähigkeit. 90 Prozent der mit deutschem Markenlogo weltweit produzierten Fahrzeuge sind mittlerweile für ausländische Märkte bestimmt. Dies unterstreicht die überragende internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Branche, zugleich ist es ein Indiz für eine immense Abhängigkeit. „Das Risiko für die heimischen Standorte und Arbeitsplätze besteht nicht darin, dass Hersteller und Zulieferer zunehmend im Ausland produzieren, sondern vielmehr darin, dass sich das erfolgreiche Modell aus Auslandsproduktion und Export nicht ungebrochen und für alle Beteiligten in gleicher Weise fortsetzen lässt“, so Prof. Dr. Werner Olle, Direktoriumsmitglied des Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI), in der aktuellen Studie mit dem Titel „Investitionen folgen dem Wachstum“.

Bei den Automobilherstellern liegt der Anteil der Auslands- an der Gesamtproduktion im Premium-Segment bei Werten um die 40 Prozent (BMW/Daimler), im Volumen-Segment (Volkswagen PKW) schon bei 80 Prozent. „Automobilhersteller produzieren in den Märkten, wo die Nachfrage noch nachhaltig steigt. Und dies ist in den klassischen Industrieländern wie Deutschland nicht mehr der Fall“, so Prof. Olle. Diese Internationalisierung habe in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten den heimischen Automobilstandorten in Summe nicht geschadet, sondern diese durch ergänzende Zulieferungen, neue Exportchancen, aber auch die Fähigkeit zur Mischkalkulation nachhaltig gestützt.

Und die Zulieferindustrie? „Alle großen deutschen Automobilzulieferer – von Continental über Mahle und Brose bis zu Dräxlmaier und Webasto -, die in bestimmten Produktbereichen durch Innovationsführerschaft hohe Weltmarktanteile behaupten, sind längst selbst global champions geworden und in ihrem Internationalisierungsgrad sogar den Automobilherstellern überlegen“, mein der Autor der CATI-Studie. Bei diesen Unternehmen seien heute schon durchschnittlich ca. 65 Prozent der Mitarbeiter im Ausland tätig.

Doch am unteren Ende der Zulieferpyramide, bei den kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen, sieht CATI erheblichen Handlungsbedarf. „Weit unterdurchschnittliche Exportquoten, Zielmärkte überwiegend im Euro-Raum, äußerst geringe eigene Auslandsengagements – dieses Bild fällt für die Zulieferindustrie in den neuen Bundesländern noch negativer aus“, schätzt Prof. Olle ein. „Im Zeitstrahl bis 2020 erwarten wir noch keine gravierenden Auswirkungen. Bleiben jedoch Fortschritte in der Globalisierung des Mittelstandes aus, sind Risiken für die inländischen Standorte und Arbeitsplätze unumgänglich. Dieses Gefährdungspotential ist für die mittelständischen Zulieferbetriebe in den neuen Bundesländern besonders hoch“, so das warnende Fazit von Prof. Olle.

„Diese Studie kommt zur rechten Zeit, da Fortschritte in der Internationalisierung eines zeitlichen Vorlaufs bedürfen“, ergänzt Prof. Dr. Christoph Igel, ebenfalls Mitglied des CATI-Direktoriums und Direktor der TUCed – Institit für Weiterbildung GmbH an der TU Chemnitz. Die jüngste Studie von CATI komme auch pünktlich im Vorfeld des diesjährigen Kongresses des Automobilclusters Ostdeutschland (ACOD) am 15. Juli im Porsche Werk Leipzig, der unter dem Motto steht: „Internationalisierung in der Automobilzulieferindustrie“.

Stichwort: Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI)

Das 2015 gegründete Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) unter Leitung der Professoren Dr. Egon Müller, Dr. Werner Olle und Dr. Christoph Igel entwickelt ein eigenständiges Profil und orientiert sich dabei am Gestaltungsbedarf der Automobilbranche, der aus den drei großen Herausforderungen Internationalisierung, Innovation und demographischer Wandel resultiert. In dieser strategischen Ausrichtung initiiert, betreibt und bündelt CATI Forschungsarbeiten auf den Gebieten Automobil-Wirtschaft, Automobil-Fabrik und Automobil-Logistik unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Entwicklung und Erprobung sowie des Transfers von Prozessinnovationen.

Auf Grund der hohen Bedeutung des Innovations- und Wissenstransfers wurde das Chemnitz Automotive Institute als eigenständiger Geschäftsbereich in ein An-Institut der Technischen Universität Chemnitz integriert: die TUCed – Institut für Weiterbildung GmbH. Diese Konstellation ermöglicht die enge Verzahnung mit anderen Instituten der Universität wie z.B. dem Institut für Betriebswissenschaften und Fabriksysteme. CATI kooperiert mit zahlreichen Praxispartnern, mit dem Verband der Automobilindustrie e.V. und dem Automotive Cluster Ostdeutschland als institutionelle Branchenverbände sowie mit Vertretern verschiedener Institutionen angewandter Forschung.