News

SMWA project for future value creation in the automotive industry

SMWA project for future value creation in the automotive industry

The Saxony Ministry for Economic Affairs and Labour (SMWA) has commissioned a national study on ‘Current developments and trends in value creation processes in the automotive supply industry (focusing on Saxony)’. The contract was awarded to a consortium consisting of the Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) and the Saxony automotive supplier industry network AMZ.

So what is it? It is a strategic project relating to future automotive value creation structures, with the aim being to generate recommendations for action and pilot projects which could boost regional automotive suppliers’ capacity to compete and innovate within the framework of ‘Saxony until 2020′. Saxony has the potential, but reacting to new developments and trends is vital.

The project’s task is threefold: analysing current business and technological data from several hundred companies, evaluating the requirements and skills currently available and required in the future, and implementing the practical insights gained. ‘In completing the current status analysis and identifying pilot projects, we have been able to build on our network’s extensive preliminary work and introduce a unique data pool’, according to Dirk Vogel, AMZ project manager and the CEO of RKW Sachsen.

The Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) will be helping to analyse and link up market and technology trends. ‘The project’s common challenge lies in connecting the current reality of the Saxony automotive supplier industry with current trends in such a way as to identify risks, but also more importantly opportunities to which politics and commerce can react’, says Prof. Werner Olle, a member of the Chemnitz Automotive Institute’s board of directors.

It should be recognised that it is not only the automotive product which requires further technological change (material efficiency, drive technologies, digitisation and networking), but also the value-creation structures involved in manufacturing it: the cars of today and tomorrow are 70-75% the result of added value in the supplier industry, meaning that there is particular need for action in this area.

News

SMWA-Projekt zur automobilen Wertschöpfung der Zukunft

SMWA-Projekt zur automobilen Wertschöpfung der Zukunft

Das Sächsische Ministerium für Wirtschaft und Arbeit (SMWA) hat eine Studie über ‚Aktuelle Entwicklungen und Trends in den Wertschöpfungsprozessen der Automobilzulieferindustrie (Schwerpunkt Sachsen)’ bundesweit ausgeschrieben. Den Zuschlag hat ein Konsortium aus dem Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) und dem Netzwerk Automobilzulieferindustrie Sachsen (AMZ) erhalten.

Um was geht es? Um ein strategisches Projekt zu künftigen automobilen Wertschöpfungsstrukturen, aus dem Handlungsempfehlungen und Modellprojekte entstehen sollen, die in einer Perspektive ‚Sachsen bis 2020’ die regionalen Automobilzulieferer in ihrer Wettbewerbs- und Innovationsfähigkeit unterstützen können. Das Potential in Sachsen ist vorhanden; aber es gilt, auf neue Entwicklungen und Trends zu reagieren.

Bestandsanalyse von betriebswirtschaftlichen und technologischen Daten aus einigen hundert Unternehmen – Bewertung vorhandener und künftig geforderter Anforderungen und Kompetenzen – Umsetzung daraus gewonnener praxisrelevanter Erkenntnisse, so lautet der Dreisprung, den das Projekt zu vollbringen hat. „Bei der Bestandsanalyse und Identifikation von Modellprojekten können wir auf umfängliche Vorarbeiten unseres Netzwerkes aufbauen und eine einmalige Datenbasis einbringen’, so Dirk Vogel, Projektmanager des AMZ und Geschäftsführer des RKW Sachsen.

Das Chemnitz Automotive Institute (CATI) steuert die Analyse und Verbindung von Markt- und Technologietrends bei. ‚Die gemeinsame Herausforderung des Projektes besteht letztlich darin, die heutige Realität in der sächsischen Automobilzulieferindustrie mit kommenden Trends so zu verknüpfen, dass Risiken, aber noch wichtiger Chancen erkennbar werden, auf die Politik und Wirtschaft reagieren können’, so Prof. Werner Olle, Direktoriumsmitglied des Chemnitz Automotive Institute.

Zu erkennen gilt, dass sich nicht nur das Produkt Auto technologisch weiter verändern wird (Materialeffizienz, Antriebstechnologien, Digitalisierung und Vernetzung), sondern zugleich auch die Wertschöpfungsstrukturen bei seiner Herstellung. Da das Auto von heute und auch das von morgen zu 70 – 75 % aus der Wertschöpfung in der Zulieferindustrie entstammt, ist hier der Handlungsbedarf besonders ausgeprägt.